Thoughtful Tuesday: Learn to love naked

Opening Prayer:

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit, Amen.

Almighty God,

As we begin this new day that is full of surprises and turns, we ask that you may be our guide in making the right decisions.
Whether we struggle with the hardest of things in life, like the loss of a loved one or a sense of loss from not knowing where in life should we go next, that you may be that set of footprints in the sand.

Today, may we have that sense of growth in ourselves and through everything that surrounds us,
Where love knows no bounds except your infinite love and mercy for us.
Please continue to shower us with your precious love and graces, and reveal to us through the people around us, how we may become more Christ-like.

We ask this through Jesus Christ, our Lord, Amen.

When was the last time you told yourself, “I love you”, or “You’re awesome”? Any compliment would do! Every single morning, we look in the mirror after finding something to wear, and rather than appreciating ourselves, we tend to say, “It doesn’t look right” or something that puts down our mood to try to find something that’ll probably bring us back up to 100 per cent.

Loving yourself does not have to start with the clothes you wear. Loving yourself starts without your clothing, without a cute text message from a special someone, or from eating healthy and happy. Loving yourself is being able to be happy with yourself, to understand that you don’t have to become someone you’re not. God made you to be the person in His image, that He loves and crafted with His very hands while we were in the womb.

I’m not saying this because this is your stereotypical speech about loving yourself, but as a person who needed to learn how to love herself and stop pleasing others. When I was in elementary school, we had a substitute teacher who knew how to read people just by how they looked and stood. It never occurred to me then how true it was when she said I looked like a people pleaser. To me, it was what made me feel happy and confident with myself, so that I could be acknowledged instead of falling into the background where my other friends outshine me just by how they look prettier than I do.

I was a weird kid when I was young, even weird enough to call my mom at her work desk and pull her out of her meeting because I had an emergency. What was it? “I have a fashion crisis. I don’t have anything to wear.” By no means should I have done that, and looking back at it, I was the kind of kid who was so concerned about wearing the same things twice. Even when I was in high school, I complimented a girl for her outfit and somehow the conversation turned into her saying, “Oh no, you should never wear the same outfit twice.” Save for the school uniform, that is.

But why are we so bound to the clothes we wear to make us feel better? Shows about fashion are talking about having figure flattering clothing, to hide all those ‘rolls’ and ‘muffin tops’.

Loving yourself starts from the moment you wake up and look in the mirror, with or without clothes. You don’t need to hear someone say, ‘I like your hair!’ or ‘I like your outfit!’ to feel any better about yourself, because if you let someone dictate your mood, you can’t ever be happy for yourself. It’ll no longer be about you, and more about them.

When you go to bed tonight, write a sticky note and post it on your mirror for tomorrow morning. Write something that’ll compliment you, something that will encourage you because this is a note from you and no one else.

Closing Prayer:

Take the time to meditate, to think about how you perceive yourself. Change doesn’t happen overnight, but it can help if you start little by little.

God, thank You. Thank You for making me an instrument of Your peace and love.
Thank You for crafting me into this person in the womb, and for continuing to love us.
Despite our shortcomings, our mood changes… You never cease to have a hand on our backs to continue to support us in our journey of love.
May we learn to love ourselves more and more, away from the social norms, and to become a better version of ourselves so that we can love others more better.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

